Maharishi School Pioneer Boys Golf

Super Conference Tournament Report

Sheaffer GC, Fort Madison

Monday, May 3, 2004


* The Super Conference sponsors two forms of golf competition for its member schools: the regular season dual meet championship and the post season tournament championship. Also, Super Conference golf is split into two divisions: nine schools in the small school division and eight schools in the large school division.

For the dual season championship, teams play only the other teams in their division for a division title. In the post season tournament, teams from both divisions play on the same course so that division winners and an overall winner can be recognized.

In addition to the team competition, players also post their scores in the tournament for an individual competition. In the team competition, the top four scores from the six players on a team are counted.

* The Pioneers won the small school division regular season dual meet championship with an undefeated 7-0 record.

* The Pioneers won the small school division tournament with a score of 328 for a five stroke margin over second place Marquette.

* The Pioneers placed runner-up in the conference overall tournament championship, two strokes behind large school division and overall champion Van Buren's 326 and five strokes ahead of overall third place Marquette.

* All six Pioneers earned All Conference honors. Will Carlisle and Aaron Steinberg, shot 81 to tie for fourth in the division and place All Conference First Team. Nick Juskewycz and Danny Steinberg shot 83 to tie for tenth in the division and place All Conference Second Team. Mani Mullenneaux's 85 and Dylan Rudney's 87 earned them All Conference Honorable Mention.

* The Pioneers dual meet record included a school record score of 141 at Walton against Marquette on April 15. The Pioneers average score for their seven dual meets was 158 and their average victory margin was 27 strokes.

* Will Carlisle is the leading scorer for the Pioneers, averaging in the thirties for nine holes.

* The Pioneers have seventeen players, their biggest team ever. They have four seniors who have played varsity golf for four years. And a large class of committed sophomores. Nick Juskewycz is a talented freshman coming in just in time.

* The Pioneers have been to State two years in a row. A successful season will be measured in terms of continuing that streak.

* The Pioneers have now concluded their Super Conference season. Their next tournament is the Walnut Ridge Invitational in Waterloo on Saturday, May 8 featuring a field of several teams from last years State finals including defending State Champion Sumner.

Small School Division

328 Maharishi School Division Champ and Conference Runner-up

333 Marquette Division Runner-up and Conference Third

348 Aquinas

348 IMS

350 Stritch

356 Winfield

372 New London

378 Danville

387 Lone Tree

Large School Division

326 Van Buren Division and Conference Champ

340 Notre Dame

341 Columbus Junction

342 Central Lee

343 Wapello

344 Mediapolis

358 Waco

391 Louisa & Muscatine

Small School Top Five -- First Team All Conference

38-38 76 Evan Honts Winfield Division Champ and

Overall Runner-up

42-37 79 Drew Hochstetler IMS

42-38 80 Chris Long Stritch

43-38 81 Will Carlisle Maharishi

42-39 81 Aaron Steinberg Maharishi

39-42 81 Jason Huffman Aquinas

Large School Top Five -- First Team All Conference

74 Rutt Columbus Junction

76 Reynolds Waco

79 Ohde Wapello

80 Marshall Wapello

80 Boley Van Buren

Maharishi School

43-38 81 Will Carlisle

42-39 81 Aaron Steinberg

45-38 83 Nick Juskewycz

40-43 83 Danny Steinberg

40-45 85 Mani Mullenneaux

40-47 87 Dylan Rudney

[Close the Window ]